Blogging challenge 2017

As someone who has either always been a student or a teacher, it is somewhat of a shock to the system to be back at work on the 12th of January!  However, it is this job that I am in currently that I have to thank for enabling me to enact my #oneword2016 Hauora and achieve a far greater balance in my life, so I really cannot complain.

At the beginning of January I received an e-mail update from A.J. Juliani sharing his ’30 Days of Blogging Challenge’ This post really resonated with me, especially the barriers that we tend to throw up that keep us from blogging.  One of my biggest barriers is that I feel like I construct amazing blog posts in my head either in the middle of the night, or when I am out running etc, but then when I sit down to write them they never quite sound as good and so I don’t write anything. But this post also reminded of the reasons that I do enjoy blogging, and so I determined that I would set myself a blogging goal for 2017: To publish a blog every Friday (unless I am on leave).  To do this, I am not going to focus too much on the length or complexity of the writing, but instead focus on simply sharing thoughts, ideas, kōrero etc that I have been privileged to be part of and think others may be interested in.  I am aiming for many of my blogs this year to have more of a focus on Health and Physical Education.

To get started today though, I thought that I would just briefly reflect on some goals that I set in my #oneword2016 blog:

  1. Go to a live concert.  This didn’t happen in 2016, but I am looking forward to catching up with my gorgeously talented cousin Brooke Fraser next month while she is on tour in NZ.
  2. Enter and compete in a running event that I haven’t taken part in before, with bonus points if it is in a part of NZ that I have not visited before.  I think I probably ticked this one off on two seperate occasions.  In February I ran leg 3 of the Tarawera Ultramarathon relay – I ran leg 1 in 2015 and leg 2 in 2014, so while this was not a new event, running this new leg meant that I did see a part of NZ that I hadn’t visited before; plus I also made it to the finish line at Kawerau for the first time in taking part in this event.  Then in May I ran the Hawkes Bay half marathon – a new event on the running calendar.  This year I have already signed up to do the 22 km at the Waitomo Trail run in April; another new event for me and a new place to visit in NZ.
  3. Take my cricket mad son to a KFC Big Bash match in Australia for his 13th birthday (December).  Disappointed that I didn’t achieve this in 2016 but more determined than ever to make it happen in 2017.
  4. Go overseas with my family.  We enjoyed a stunning week long holiday in Noosa in October which was perfect timing to take a break from work and enjoy some warmer weather.
  5. Get back into yoga.  My colleague introduced me to ROMWOD – range of motion workout of the day.  I love it, mainly because I can access it anywhere, anytime on my phone or laptop, and I do it far more frequently than if I were going to yoga classes.  I would still like to compliment it with some classes to get that personal and social element, so may look into that for 2017.
  6. Be deliberate in my use of Te Reo Māori, and pronouncing NZ place names.  I am so grateful for the opportunity to have completed the CORE Education Te Reo Puāwai Māori course and have blogged about the experience here.  This year I am looking forward to completing the next course Te Reo Manahua Māori.

Wishing everyone a fantastic 2017.

Leave a Reply

